Learning and Development at Worth Pre-School

Your child's pre-school experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure whilst supporting development, care and learning needs. We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage 2014 (EYFS) framework which exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child.

Our provision reflects the four key themes and 16 commitments of the EYFS:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development.

The EYFS sets out the legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first which are essential for your child's healthy development and future learning. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Arts & Design
  • Understanding the World
  • Literacy

These 7 areas are used to plan your child's learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child's unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Enhancements to our weekly curriculum include sessions from Rhythm Time and Move and Groove along with a balanced of child initiated and adult-led planned activities such as phonics and key group teaching time.